2023 FIFA Women's World Cup German squad.

Germany Reveals Provisional 28-Player Squad for 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup

Alexandra Popp to Lead Germany’s Squad for 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

Germany has officially announced their provisional squad of 28 players for the upcoming 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup. The squad includes a strong lineup of talented individuals who will represent their country in the prestigious tournament.

On Wednesday, May 31, Germany’s manager Martina Voss-Tecklenburg held a press conference in Frankfurt to announce the provisional squad of 28 players for the upcoming FIFA Women’s World Cup. The team, led by captain and star striker Alexandra Popp, aims to secure its third world title at the prestigious football tournament taking place in Australia and New Zealand from July 20 to August 20.

Voss-Tecklenburg has included 20 out of the 23 players who were part of the German team that lost to England in the final of the 2022 European Championships. Unfortunately, two Bayern Munich stars, Giulia Gwinn and Linda Dallmann, were left out of the squad due to their inability to recover from injuries in time for the tournament. Additionally, Almuth Schult, who was part of the squad at the previous EURO, will be absent due to pregnancy.

2023 FIFA Women's World Cup: Germany’s Provisional Squad

Voss-Tecklenburg acknowledged the high expectations surrounding the team and mentioned that not selecting Gwinn was an extremely difficult decision. Germany has been drawn into Group H for the World Cup, alongside Morocco, Colombia, and the Republic of Korea.

Their campaign will commence on July 24 in Melbourne, where they will face Morocco. Subsequently, they will play against Colombia on July 30 in Sydney. The final match of the group stage will take place in Brisbane on August 3, with Germany facing the Republic of Korea.

2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup: Germany’s Provisional Squad:

Here is the revised provisional team list for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup:

Goalkeepers: Ann-Katrin Berger (Chelsea FC), Merle Frohms (VFL Wolfsburg), Stina Johannes (Eintracht Frankfurt), Ena Mahmutovic (Duisburg)

Defenders: Sara Doorsoun (Eintracht Frankfurt), Marina Hegering (VfL Wolfsburg), Kathrin Hendrich (VfL Wolfsburg), Sophia Kleinherne (Eintracht Frankfurt), Sarai Linder (1899 Hoffenheim), Sjoeke Nüsken (Eintracht Frankfurt), Felicitas Rauch (VfL Wolfsburg), Carolin Simon (Bayern Munich)

Midfielders: Sara Däbritz (Olympique Lyonnais), Chantal Hagel (1899 Hoffenheim), Svenja Huth (VfL Wolfsburg), Paulina Krumbiegel (1899 Hoffenheim), Lena Lattwein (VfL Wolfsburg), Melanie Leupolz (Chelsea FC), Lina Magull (Bayern Munich), Lena Oberdorf (VfL Wolfsburg)

Forwards: Alexandra Popp (VfL Wolfsburg), Nicole Anyomi (Eintracht Frankfurt), Jule Brand (VfL Wolfsburg), Klara Bühl (Bayern Munich), Laura Freigang (Eintracht Frankfurt), Lea Schüller (Bayern Munich), Tabea Waßmuth (VfL Wolfsburg), Sydney Lohmann (Bayern Munich).

Similar Posts